Summer Adventures: From Hiking to Cycling

The hiking craze didn’t end after Garibaldi. 2 days later, I attempted hiking Dog Mountain which is close to Mt Seymour! If you’re looking for an easy hike not too far away from Vancouver, I’d recommend Dog Mountain! 45 minutes drive and a 2-3 hour hike up and down. The only reservation I had was the crazy number of flies at Dog Mountain that I read in reviews… but honestly, the fly situation at Garibaldi was worse..

IMG_2730

The four hikers for the day! 🙂 They were so kind to teach me Cantonese along the way haha now I think I’ve one too many languages jumbled up in my brain.

IMG_2723

First lake! IMG_2727

We finally reached the top!!! The fantastic view that greeted us made all the hiking so worthwhile. IMG_2729 IMG_2733 IMG_2736 IMG_2742 IMG_2751 IMG_2755 IMG_2758

IMG_2764 IMG_2769

IMG_2784On top of the world ~~

IMG_2792

We were starving by the time we got back down to Vancouver so we decided on having  Santouka Ramen for lunch! 🙂 It’s been a year since I last went back and its still really good.

Since we didn’t want to waste such a beautiful day away, we decided on our next activity – Cycling! If you ever visit Vancouver, this should be on your to-do list! Stanley Park’s seawall has one of the best views, and its still my favorite cycling route even though I’ve done it more than 3 times! I’ll leave you with pictures to explain the view 🙂

IMG_2793 IMG_2795 IMG_2796 IMG_2799 IMG_2803 IMG_2809 IMG_2810 IMG_2812 IMG_2813

Feeling the sea breeze and cruising by these awesome places made me feel so happy and contented. It made my problems seem so small in this huge world we have.. 🙂

The lion’s gate bridge! IMG_2822 IMG_2825 IMG_2829 IMG_2833

After all that exercise, we needed some post-workout treats! Gelato fit the bill perfectly on a hot summer day 🙂

IMG_2836

Enjoy the summer heat!

Love,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

