Half Year Mark + My 3 Simple Steps to Happiness

Had every intention of posting this on July 1st, but was kept busy with a long to-do list! Now that I’ve cleared my to-do list, I’m in a happy mood to write this post!

It’s been half a year and this year seemed to pass in a whirlwind. As you grow older, every year passes faster and faster don’t you think? This year, I’ve experienced lots of changes in my thinking, my life, my learning and things seem to happen when I least expect it to. One thing’s for sure, I’ve definitely grown as a person and am more certain of where my passion lies. I’m happy to be where I am at this point of life, and I won’t have it any other way. 🙂

I’m entering into my fourth year of University this fall (3 years passed already??), and I’m determined to make the most out of it!  I’m an extremely goal-oriented person so I make an effort to sit down and make short-term and long-term goals for myself! By recording what seems to be a far-fetched dream down in black and white brings it a step closer to reality. I derive happiness from achieving my goals – and sometimes setting higher goals for myself actually drives me to do better! Even if I fall short, at least I tried.

Thought of the day: How do you derive joy?

For me, its really about the little things in life. Going to run at the park after a day of work, taking short walks around the neighborhood, even staying home and having the luxury of time to do my favorite things… I appreciate every moment! Every morning, I wake up to a brand new day – a day to accomplish things I set out to do, to love the people around me, to be in this beautiful world – and I’m so thankful, so thankful for everything I have. It really doesn’t take much for me to be happy.

My 3 simple steps to happiness:

1) Look at the bigger picture. Its human nature to worry. But sometimes, we need to take a breath and look at the bigger picture. How will this affect in the long run? Is there something I can do about it?  If the answer is no, then maybe there’s not much of a cause for concern.

2) Count your blessings. Instead of thinking about what you don’t have, think about what you have and treasure it!

3) Make every moment count. I try to live a life without regrets so I take every opportunity to put myself out there and experience 🙂 I realized every opportunity I take, I’m always so glad that I took it in the first place.

I’ve had no intention of writing these steps, but look what a happy mood does to you! When I started writing this post, everything just came to me 🙂 Of course, there’s no one size fits all solution so it might work differently for some of you! These are just what works for me 😀

How do you derive joy? I’d love to hear it! 🙂

Oh, and Happy Fourth of July, America!

Leave a Reply

