Travelogue: A day in Seattle!

IMG_1504I decided to get a head start on blogging about our day trip while its still fresh in my mind! It was a rather impromptu trip that we decided to take! One of the perks of living in Vancouver, we are right by the border to the States so this means that its really convenient for us to go there! Downtown Seattle is about a 2 and a half hour drive away from Vancouver. πŸ™‚

Our first destination of the day: Pike’s Place Public Market! There really isn’t that many places to sightsee in Seattle so this is one of the most touristy spots in Seattle.

IMG_1495

It was filled with stores of all sorts! Meat, clothing, painting, fruits, accessories, everything in one market!IMG_1496 IMG_1531 IMG_1500

This is the famous fish store – Pike Place Fish Co! They’re known for their enthusiasm when serving their customers! Its such a joy to see them so passionate about their work, plus points for customer service!

IMG_1505

The first Starbucks store! Every time I’m there its perpetually crowded!IMG_1506 IMG_1502Since we had some time before lunch, we decided to head to the harbor for the views.

IMG_1507 IMG_1510

The four of us! We were so lucky to be there on a sunny day (it was rainy the entire week) and the weather was HOT. I’m so glad I chose to wear the pink sorbet offsie top to keep me comfortable and cool, its still available here! Perfect for summer weather πŸ™‚Β IMG_1511 IMG_1512I’ve been wearing a cap a lot these days to keep my face out of the sun!! I used to be really ignorant about the harmful effects of the sun on the skin, but I learnt that the sun rays will actually cause pigmentation on your skin when you grow older! Thus, I’ve been very careful lately, applying lots of sunblock on my face to protect it – this is especially important since the sun rays here are even stronger than what we have in Singapore! If you can see from the pictures, we barely have any clouds at all which means the sun rays are direct and 100x more harmful 😦

IMG_1515 IMG_1516 IMG_1518We decided to settle down for lunch at the much raved about Pike Place Chowder!! I had the Seafood Bisque which I really liked personally πŸ™‚

IMG_1519 IMG_1520Happy faces after lunch ^^ We talked so much during the whole journey! From 7am – 11pm NON-STOP! This girl has so much energy its crazy πŸ™‚ I got to know her a lot better during this trip which is something I’m really thankful about!

IMG_1526

The famous GUM WALL! The whole place smelt like bubblegum…IMG_1532 IMG_1533After all the sightseeing, we went shopping!! πŸ™‚ No pictures cause we were all busy shopping for the entire afternoon! After we were done, we settled down at this cosy Mexican restaurant in Bellingham for dinner!

IMG_1535 IMG_1534

There, I had the biggest quesadilla I’ve ever had in my life…IMG_1542

The portions were HUGE, and very reasonably priced! We had a great dinner talking about anything and everything πŸ˜€Β IMG_1548

 

Our JUMBO margarita with all my favorite fruits in it! Banana, cranberry, strawberries etc..so good!Β IMG_1550

 

Have a great Canada Day weekend and enjoy the HEAT!

Love,

Elizabeth

 

 

Leave a Reply

