Random acts of kindness

Recently, I’ve been exposed to random acts of kindness that really made my days. Its so heartening to know that in the heart of the city of Vancouver – there are people who care, and people who would go out of their way to make you smile.

Just the other day, I was on the bus when this man in his fifties/sixties came to sit next to me, I could feel that he was looking in my direction but I didn’t make eye contact. I just continued the journey, minding my own business, and while I was applying my lip balm he started talking to me. I was using the EOS lip balm which was in the shape of a ball (love it!) and he used that to start the conversation with me saying how cute it was..

At first, I was quite skeptical – I wasn’t sure of his intentions so I was a bit more guarded but two minutes into the conversation I realized that he was really knowledgeable and so kind. The bus ride with him lasted for about less than 10 minutes before he had to leave. But in that 10 minutes, he taught me so much about life. He asked me “What was the first thing that came into your mind when I started talking to you? Be honest.” and I replied how I was wondering why he was talking to me. He said I was kind enough to continue the conversation because usually the first reactions he gets from people are that they just shun away the moment he tries to start the conversation. There are reasons why we are wary of people – but sometimes we need to understand why people do some things. For example, why do people do crazy and stupid things on the streets? Sometimes, its the circumstances that forces them to be that way.. When you’re broke, hungry, and have nothing in life, it drives you to do stupid things, it drives anyone to do crazy things. So while sometimes we think less of these people while witnessing their actions, we need to take a step back and think – Why is he doing this? What’s his story? What are his circumstances? – before we even make judgments.

Anyway, so back to the reason why he asked me that question.. He explained how in our society today, people assume that when someone starts a conversation with them, they often have ulterior motives like gaining something out of them – its the harsh and cruel truth as we live in this superficial world today. However, he said that sometimes it can be as simple as making someone smile 🙂

I decided to write about this because this wasn’t the first time that a kind old man has taught me so much on the bus. A few months back, I was on the way to church and I had the privilege of taking the bus with another elderly man that taught me so much about life and love. I was at the grocery store today and this man at the next checkout counter suddenly turned to me and said “I’ll feel bad if I don’t say this, you look beautiful” and it was enough to make me smile. 🙂

Just a simple compliment, or a conversation is enough to turn someone’s day around! I urge you to try something that I’m going to try myself as well – compliment someone you see, start a conversation with a random stranger, you never know what surprises life has in store for you! If everyone does this, we’ll definitely have more smiling faces on the street, and a much friendlier, loving environment to live in.

2 thoughts on “Random acts of kindness

  1. beautiful post! 😀
    It’s also surprising how much i can relate to this phenomena. I’ve always tend to get suspicious to strangers, and i have several experiences in the past to strengthen this behavior. But being on the go a lot, i feel like the street nowadays is a very cold place, no one’s talking to each other, and people are also less likely to help each other. I do think this world will be a lot nicer if we start to see other people as ‘a friend to be’ than a stranger.

    and oh, sorry for the long comment, but it’s just that i feel like this post is so relatable 🙂

    http://ainihapsari.wordpress.com/

  2. Thanks for your comment!! I’m so glad that there are people out there like you who feel the same way as well – the world would be definitely more compassionate and loving if everyone actually made the effort! However, it’s also easier said than done but small steps everyday will make a big difference in the long run! 🙂

Leave a Reply

